Destination: Ireland – an interview with a fellow traveler

cave

Lizzy, Michael, and Devon (from left) outside of Blarney Castle on their trip in January of 2013.

Some of my friends recently studied abroad with a group in Germany and traveled to Ireland together. I asked Lizzy some questions about her experience the other night and here’s what she had to say:

So this was your first time traveling abroad, what did you think of the experience?

When I first started college I had no intention of traveling abroad. But a trip was offered over interim that my friends were interested in and I ended up going too.  Looking back, I would do the trip over in a heartbeat! It was the best time of my life. I experienced things I never imagined and things I will never forget.

What were you most nervous about?

At first I was super anxious for a number of reasons: I had never flown on a plane for such a long period of time. An 8 hour plane ride was something I was scared shitless for. I was also nervous for the fact that I was going somewhere far from home, where I didn’t know the language. I was worried that if I would get lost I couldn’t ask anyone for help.

What were some of your favorite places to see?

In Ireland I loved the Cliffs of Moher. It was breath taking and I couldn’t get enough pictures of the view. I also enjoyed going to the Blarney Stone. The castle was really cool to see all the old buildings and I can’t imagine how the grounds would look in summer with all the green gardens and gorgeous sites. Kissing the blarney stone was something I can now check of my bucket list! Also going to Wicklow Mountain National Park and going to the spot from P.S. I Love You was awesome since I am such a big fan of the movie. (Here’s a clip!)

Cliffs of Moher

Devon and Lizzy at the Cliffs of Moher.

Cliffs of Mohr 2

The beautiful scenery at the Cliffs of Moher.

Wicklow Natl Park

Wicklow – location where scenes from Braveheart and P.S. I Love You were filmed.

Blarney Stone - Lizzy

In order to reach the Blarney Stone, someone helps lower you over the battlements of the castle.

Blarney Stone - Michael

Once you kiss the stone you gain the gift of eloquence.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you could do anything differently – go somewhere; do something – what would it be?

I would change the time of the year I went. Since it was winter, it rained almost every day we were there and we rarely saw the sun shine. I also would have liked to go see a traditional Irish pub and seen a live band. We tried to go but ended up running out of time.

Do you have any advice for people who want to travel to Germany or Ireland?

For Ireland: bring rain boots and be prepared for rain and cold. The weather is unpredictable, it can be sunny one minute then rainy and cold the next.

For Germany: be prepared to travel light. They don’t have many ramps so carrying a heavy suitcase up steps was not fun!

Share some of your favorite places or interesting stories from Ireland!

Leave a comment