The Beginning… People to People Student Ambassadors

Here are some of my friends from the trip

My love for travel really started with my first trip to Europe.  I went through a People to People Student Ambassador (P2P) program to England and France.  It was 2007 – I was a sophomore in high school going on my first international trip. With a bunch of people I didn’t know… For three weeks… It was a big deal for me.  Thankfully, there were meetings we needed to go to before leaving which helped us all get to know each other and brace us for what to expect.  At first I was super nervous and a little shy, but by the end of the trip we all made great memories and became pretty good friends.  Even four years after the trip we still keep in touch.   If I could go back and do it all over again I definitely would!

The program I was in (the Tale of Two Cities trip) has been slightly changed. After looking at the itinerary, it seems to have most of the same activities but is now only offered to grades 5 and 6.

My top 10 attractions of the trip were:

  • Climbing/riding to the top of the Eiffel Tower
  • Seeing the Mona Lisa at The Louvre
  • Learning about WWII at  Normandy
  • Exploring Stonehenge
  • Walking through Shakespeare’s birthplace – Stratford-upon-Avon
  • Watching the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace
  • Riding on the London Eye – the worlds largest Ferris wheel
  • Touring the Tower of London
  • Walking the streets of Oxford – the oldest university in England
  • Learning to sail at the United Kingdom Sailing Academy

P2P has about 26 different programs on 6 continents for both middle school and high school students.  The P2P blog has some good information about programs and different people’s experiences with the organization. Also check out their Facebook page.

I recently found out that they do college programs as well.  They happen during winter break for about two weeks.  Because of my past experience with the organization, I’m considering applying for one… the only problem is which one to choose!?

The Eiffel Tower!The London Eye at sunset.

Leave a comment